Welcome to the Red River Watershed Management Board (RRWMB) website.  The RRWMB’s jurisdiction and authority encompasses the area managed by the individual watershed districts that have membership on the Board.  Eight watershed districts within the Red River Valley form the RRWMB including the Joe River, Two Rivers, Roseau River, Middle-Snake-Tamarac Rivers, Red Lake, Sand Hill River, Wild Rice, and Bois de Sioux. 

The RRWMB was created by an act of the Minnesota legislature in 1976 to provide an organization with a basin-wide perspective concerning flooding.  Historically, the activities of the RRWMB have centered on flood control.  Previous efforts in dealing with the flooding problem within the Red River Basin consisted of single projects within a localized area, planned with primary regard to local benefits.  The RRWMB actively promotes a basin-wide perspective for water management.

Member Watershed Districts

Each member watershed district and the counties included therein:

Red River Basin Decision Information Network

Information on the Water Quality Decision Support Application


Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter
For Email Newsletters you can trust


A meeting of the Public Information Committee has been scheduled for Thursday, February 11, 2016 at 10:00 a.m. in Salon C at the Courtyard by Marriott, 1080 - 28th Avenue South, Moorhead, MN

The next meeting of the RRWMB will be held prior to the Red River Basin Flood Damage Reduction Work Group meeting on Tuesday, February 16, 2016 from 9:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. at the Red Lake Watershed District, 1000 Pennington Ave S, Thief River Falls, MN.

Following the board meeting, the Red River Basin Flood Damage Reduction Work Group will meet at 1:00 p.m. at the Red Lake Watershed District office.



The 18th Joint Annual Conference has been scheduled at the Courtyard by Marriott in Moorhead, MN for Wednesday, March 23 – Thursday, March 24, 2016.  Click here to download the agenda and register.