Roseau River Watershed District

Established as Roseau River Drainage and Conservancy District in 1920, it was authorized to function as a watershed district in 1963.  Located in the extreme northeastern corner of the Red River of the North basin, the district subbasin has an area of 1,128 square miles in the counties of Roseau, Kittson, Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, and Marshall.  After leaving the United States, the Roseau River drains an additional 929 square miles within Canada.  The Roseau River follows a general northwesterly course over its entire length of approximately 180 miles.  It crosses the international border at the midpoint of its course and enters the Red River approximately 15 miles downstream from the border.


Established: June 17, 1963 

District Phone:
218-463-0313 Fax: 218-463-0315
Cell: 218-689-6491

Click Here For More Info



District Mailing Address - P.O. Box 26, Roseau, 56751-0026 

District Meeting:  First Wednesday of each month at 8:00 a.m. held at the Watershed District Office located at 119 2nd St. SW, Roseau, MN 56751 

District Administrator:  Tracy Halstensgard, P.O. Box 26, Roseau, MN 56751, Office phone - 218-463-0313, Fax - 218-463-0315, E-mail:, Cell Ph: 218-242-1737

Technician:  Torin McCormack, Cell Ph:  218-452-0179

District Attorney - Steve Anderson

Part of the territory of this District is in Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Kittson and Roseau Counties.

2013 Board of Managers

LeRoy Carriere, Chairman
Cody Schmalz, Vice-Chair
Floyd Haugen, Secretary
Aaron Magnusson, Treasurer
Tony Wensloff, Manager

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter
For Email Newsletters you can trust